One Year

Standard

Yesterday, May 15, marked one year from the day we got on a plane and moved our family to Swaziland. (It also marked 10 years from the time Brad’s parents moved to Swaziland.)

It is hard to believe it has already been that long. In some ways the time has flown by. There are some days (like when I REALLY want Mexican food) that it seems like we have been here for-ev-er.

We have learned SO much in the past year and we certainly have a TON more to learn. We’ve been changed in ways we recognize and I’m sure in ways we don’t yet see.

I thought about some kind of a list of things we have learned/experienced/done but that just does not even seem to do justice to the experience.

I guess all I can really say is that we are richly blessed and thankful for this opportunity. We feel we have been called to this place for this time and it makes me really happy that we even enjoy it too! It is hard to put it all in words. If you have ever lived in another country or been in a place completely different than your home, maybe you understand. The world is so much bigger than just YOU (ME), or the people and places like you and me. And I love that!

Like I have said before, we really appreciate your support and encouragement along the way! We are blessed by each kind word, thought, prayer, package, or visit (hint, hint)! We are thankful for each of you that cares for our family. Some days are rough, but it is comforting to know we are loved and not forgotten. Thank you!

So, here’s to another year of life in Swaziland…

8 responses »

  1. Come see me for the best spaghetti your your palate can hope for. And tex-mex food

    I am not Lovee, guess who I am and win a prize. Hint, I’m abou 9 hours behind you. It is 7:32 am here on the left coast. Everybody except your mom is still in bed bunch of laid back people !

    Did you guess who I am?
    Someone who loves you more than words can express.

    • I’m guessing you are my Dad, someone who I love in those same unexpressable words! I miss you so very much! Hope you are having fun!

  2. Rachael, Every time I read your blog I’m missing the trip, no, not the trip, but the time we spend in Swaziland. Getting to know you and your family last year was just an added blessing to all the ones we’ve experienced there. Tell everyone “hello” and we send greetings and best wishes.

    Now, about the Mexican food, what about Spur? ;-D Just kidding, but, probably the best guacamole I ever had came from one of those gigantic avocados they have there; I’ll never forget seeing how huge they were.

    Tell the girls “hi” and smile for some more pictures for me and Amy (because I know she’ll be reading your blog too! Love you! Linda

    • Linda, I’m so thankful our paths finally crossed…and in Swaziland of all places! You and Doug have been a blessing to this school for many years. Thanks for all you have done! We will miss you this time around, but do hope to catch up again. It is always nice to have such great people visit. Blessings to you, and thanks for keeping up with us.

    • Amy, the only thing that would make me happier is the chips, I mean YOU! Come visit me already! I do hope that one day your family can come! But, I hope I get to see you sooner than that! Love on that baby for me and tell her that her African Auntie is coming as soon as I can!

  3. Sweet Rachael, you and your dear family are thought of so often. I am truly uplifted when I read that you have been so enriched in your work there, and I do understand when you express the feeling of homesickness (isn’t that a descriptive word). We will continue to pray that God grants you joy and strength in all of your endeavors.
    Carolyn Belin

    • Carolyn, you make me happy when you share your comments. It is nice to know someone is reading and that the internet really worked and my post is not lost in space :). Really, it does encourage me. And I always think you are probably just a few steps away from my Mom and that just makes me happy (and jealous!). Just give her lots of hugs and tell them they are from me…that is when she comes back from partyin’. Love to you all!

We'd love to hear from you! Comment below.